via Daily Prompt: Bottle   

DCF 1.0

Springtime is in its youth. It is a time when waters run rapid with excitement and  before summers heat renders the creek lazy and still. A perfect time for racing twigs and tree bark, for pitting pine cones against peanut shells. Standing on the narrow bridge, my siblings and I toss our vessels of found debris into the current, taking bets on whose will come first at the other side. Once it is established that our own stick is superior to any other we sprinted across the country road to witness the emerging winner.  Of course a stick is a stick is a stick and sometimes there is confusion about whose switch was whose.

On a day when brothers and sisters have no interest in imaginary boating competitions I think up something new. A romantic idea often seen in cartoons and movies sometimes even songs. I will put a message in a pop bottle. With paper torn from my notebook I write: My name and address along with instructions to whom in may concern please reply and we will be pen pals. I seal the bottle, ride my bike to the bridge, and dispatch the message to the current. Watching waters swiftly engulf the bottle I hope it will gain some distance before being washed ashore.

Well, that is the end of the story. No one ever wrote to say they received my message in a coke bottle. Probably, all I really did was pollute the river with glass. That is how I think about it now but when I was twelve I imagined the bottle launched into an adventurous journey leading to an exotic locale. I imagined the finder of my note to be so intriguing and likewise intrigued by me that we would become pen pals for life. I will also mention that it was many years before I gave up the hope of receiving a reply. My folks still live at that address so if you find it please write to me. I’ll get the message.message in a bottlethings in bottles:

  • messages
  • genies
  • poison / antidote / cure
  • medicine / elixir
  • boats
  • condiments
  • potions  ( most common “love”)
  • emotions / feelings
  • rockets
  • candles
  • beverages – ie; milk, juice, water, soda pop
  • spirits / wine
  • screams
  • specimens – live or dead
  • flatulant gases – aka farts
  • breast or mommys milk
  • bouquet – flower display
  • smoke – I’ve added this one for the pot heads

– honourable mention -Jim Croce wanted to put time in a bottle but was unable.

*if you can think of any more please share with me in the comments box

